Thursday’s Top 5: Songs of Love & Love Gone Bad


imagesIt’s Thursday, which means it’s time to get at some favorites. A countdown of cuts, it’s Thursday’s Top 5. Usually the Top 5 is between Scott Mullins and I, as the shift changes at 2pm. Today is different however. Not that we changed much, the same thing, 5 songs, 1 theme and 2 music nerds; same thing. The other “nerd” I have with me today is The Architect, Tarik Moody and the mission is the same.

With Valentines Day coming up on Saturday, we figured we make a case for a few favorite songs about love or of love gone bad. I think that Tarik and I initially approached the question, then twisted it a bit…for example, Tarik has songs that focus on love gone wrong. I however, went island style; I mean I like love songs, but there are so many of them, I need focus…and love reggae with lover’s rock, a substyle of the genre, being some of my favorite stuff.  Let’s Check out what Tarik and I can up with shall we… a set love vs. not love if you will.

#5

Bim Sherman “Love Forever” vs. VV Brown “Crying Blood”

#4

Junior Delahaye “Love” vs. Oran “Juice” Jones “The Rain”

#3

Heavy D “Long Distance Girlfriend” vs. Lilly Allen “Smile”

#2

Barrington Levy “If You Give To Me” vs. Marvin Gaye “You Can Leave But it’s Going to Cost You”

#1

Johnny Osbourne “In Your Eyes” vs. Atmosphere “Bird Songs Why the Caged I Know”

Marcus iMix or Tarik iMix

One Response

  1. Betty Davis (Miles Davis’ second wife) wrote and sang a funky little number back in the day called “Anti Love Song”. Check it out.

Leave a Reply

