The ( Super ) Dust Brothers

We always look to find interesting and unique samples here on the SEVEN O CLOCK SAMPLE, and today we are not only looking at quality, but QUANTITY.

In 1988 the Beastie Boys headed west to LA to produce their sophomore album PAUL’S BOTIQUE.  After leaving Def Jam and Rick Rubin, the Beasties were in search of a new sound.

They found it in west cost production team, THE DUST BROTHERS.

The Dust Brothers, E.Z. Mike (Michael Simpson) and King Gizmo (John King) revolutionized the way sampled tracks were created.  These two unlikely hip hop heroes set a new standard for how sampling hardware was used and how sample based music was created.  In college they had a Rap radio show, and after they became well known DJs, they began to produce.

There they produced and sequenced tracks on Tone Lōc’s album, Lōc-ed After Dark. They also produced two tracks on Young MC’s debut album Stone Cold Rhymin.

Shortly after that, they meet the Beastie Boys, and these 5 men together created a record-setting hip hop opus!

In total, 105 songs were sampled on the album, including 24 individual samples on the last track alone!  The timing of this album is what makes it so historic.  Just 2 years later, Biz Markie would be sued by Gilbert O’Sullivan in the Grand Upright Music, Ltd. v. Warner Bros. case.  After that case, sampling records like this would not be legal.  ( It would happen again, but not legally. )

This album has some great tracks, here is one of my favorites…

There are a dozen records sampled on this track; including Kool and The Gang, Public Enemy, Sly and The Famliy Stone, The Commodores, The JAWS Soundtrack, and of course; Curtis Mayfield’s SHAFT THEME.


Are You Feeling This | Ghostpoet, Magnetic Man, No Age and The Walkmen

Lots of songs never make it to the radio that are getting lots of attention online. Live tracks, sanctioned and unsanctioned remixes, mash-ups, overlooked gems by unsigned artists. Every week on “Are You Feeling This,” we invite you to hear what the buzz is all about. You tell us what you think. Vote in the Are You Feeling This poll, leave a comment, send us an e-mail.

“Are You Feeling This” is sponsored by UniFi Records.

First up is a UK artist that is cross between Slick Rick and The Streets. His name is Ghostpoet. He was recently signed to BBC Radio 1 DJ Gilles Peterson’s lable Brownswood.  He recently released a tune called “To Something” featuring Rox via his twitter account. The track is actually an  unofficial remix of Four Tet’s “She Just Likes To Fight”.

Next we have music from the dubstep supergroup Magnetic Man, which consists of producers Benga, Skream and Artwork.  We selected the track “Getting Nowhere” featuring John Legend. This track has been making its rounds on music blogs from around the world.

The duo No Age is up next with new music from his forthcoming album “Everything in Between” due out on Sub Pop. The track is called “Glitter”. The track was featured on Pitchfork and is available as a free download.

Finally, we round out this week’s Are You Feeling This with music from the indie rock band The Walkmen and the song “Angela Surf City”. The song is from the forthcoming album Libson, which is due out on September 14th on Fat Possum Records. You can listen to the whole album over at NPR Music.

Listen to tracks below and vote for the one you are feeling the most.

Ghostpoet – “To Something” feat. Rox (download)

Magnetic Man – “Getting Nowhere” feat. John Legend

No Age – “Glitter”

The Walkmen – “Angela Surf City”

Sound Travels Monday: New Music

El Guincho “FM Tan Sexy” Pop Negro


Nortec Collective Presents: Bostich + Fussible “I Count The Ways”  Bulevar 2000


Dungen “Brallor” Skit I Allt


Nayas “Batallé” Nayas Sampler


Sound Travels Sunday: Sonidos Total!

Sound Travels Sunday: Sonidos Total Mixtape



Unknown Artist “La 2da Del Naicao” Descarga Sonidera

Burguinha Dub “Celebrando a Vida” Vitrola Abudaba

Fantasmao “Kuduro”

El Guincho “Bombay” Pop Negro

Kenge Kenge “Kenge Kenge” Introducing Kenge Kenge

Just A Band “Kaa Ridho” 82

Bebel Du Guetto “Beijo Na Boca”

Sacassaia “Pega o Gringo” Sampleando Deus e o Mundo

El Guincho “Muerte MIDI” Pop Negro

The Very Best “Wena” The Very Best Mixtape

Abafakasi “Malume” John Armstrong Presents South African Funk

Cedric Im Brooks & The Light Of Saba “Sound” Cedric Im Brooks & The Light Of Saba

Rhodee “Warueite” In Exile

El Guincho “Novias” Pop Negro

Hugh Masekela “Languta” Introducing Hedzoleh Soundz

Nortec Collective Presents: Bostich + Fussible “Punta Banda” Bulevar 2000

El Guincho “Lycra Mistral” Pop Negro

Cassimbas Negras “Bumburumbumbum” Soundway Presents Palenque Palenque

Don’t Sleep On | Givers

During half-time in the Green Bay Packers opening game, I decided to do some real music discovery by checking out some of my favorite blogs and see what they writing about.   I stopped over at Stereogum and came across this Lafayette, Louisiana band called Givers, and I was pleasantly blown away.  The band reminds me of a cross between The Dirty Projectors, Vampire Weekend and Edwarde Sharpe & The Magnetic Zeros.  Ironically, they have opened up for The Dirty Projectors on part of their tour in the south.  Think of them as sonic gumbo. You can hear African, electronic, and pop influences with a slight hint of Zydeco. Listen to these standout tracks.  I guarantee you will here more about Givers in the near future.

Givers – “Up Up Up” (download)

Givers – “In My Eyes” (download)

The Weekly Top 5 Countdown: Conscious Sounds…Like This


Ben Harper “Both Sides Of The Gun”


The Dynamites “Do The Right Thing”


Delta Spirit “People, Turn Around”


Damian Marley “We’re Gonna make It”


Matisyahu “Youth”

New Music Wednesday | Lissie, Eric Clapton, Edward Sharp, Superchunk

On this week’s New Music Wednesday, (9/8/2010), we have new music from Lissie, Eric Clapton, Edward Sharp & The Magnetic Zeros, and Superchunk. Listen to the tracks below and then let us know what you think by voting for your favorite tune.

New Music Wednesday is sponsored by Whiskey Bar.

You can also grab this week’s picks in our iTunes store!

Lissie – “In Sleep”

Eric Clapton – “Run Back To Your Side”

Superchunk – “Digging For Something”
Edward Sharpe & The Magnetic Zeros – “40 Day Dream”